Two creations….

 

 

Kia Ora all!

I made two creations last week…..

A birthday cake for my lovely friend Amanda and my first LornaLove top!  I have made the cross into fashion, but I feel in my bones that the LornaLove brand is going to encompass a whole range of creativity….. and fashion is just one of the many additions on the agenda!  Karen Walker & Trelise Cooper WATCH OUT : ha ha!

I had a couple of ideas for the cake, which didn’t work.  Trial and error is part of anything creative you do and baking is no exception!  You learn from your mistakes and it’s all part of the creative journey huh.  I tried to make this super colourful candy (below), but it turned out chewy and not hard.  I presume I need a candy thermometer to ensure the sugar cooks enough? I’ll give it another go and report back in another post.

For the cake I decided to try a super white and fluffy icing (frosting) that I had never made before.  It turned out well and is a lighter option to your rich, heavy butter icing or ganache.  Let me know your thoughts if you give it a go.  Recipe and method below……

My husband was holding a launch event for a new store he was opening on Thursday night (Central Store) and I decided to make a LornaLove top to wear to the event.  I purchased the basic top from a store I shall leave un-named…..ok, ok, it was the house of G!  The fabric is ‘floaty’ and the print is a small black and white animal print.  I sewed on the geometric LornaLove heart in a vivid fuchsia colour.  I wore a matching lipstick, which I just LOVE, called ‘Hollywood Wannabe’ by Chi Chi. The long sleeve top underneath is because it is presently winter in NZ : burrrr.

Here is a photo I will share with you of my husband and I, with our son Raphael, at the launch event.  I couldn’t stay long at the event because the music was rather loud for Raphie…although he just wanted to get his groove on!  The super cool David Dallas was playing live and Raphael was mesmerized!  This was a 5pm event by the way, so I wasn’t keeping my wee rascal up too late ;o)

ok, so back to the cake……

Lemon butter cake : ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ¾ cups castor sugar
  • 250g butter melted
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • zest of two lemons

Method :

  • Pre-heat oven to 195c conventional oven or 175c fanforce.
  • Grease a cake tin (preferably round so it cooks evenly) and line the bottom with baking paper (grease proof paper).  I used a 20cm cake tin.
  • Place all ingredients into a large bowl and mix until combined.  Pour into cake tin. So easy this recipe!
  • Bake until a skewer stick, or something similar, inserted into the centre comes out clean.  My cake took 1hr15min.
  • This cake does not rise too much, so don’t worry about filling the cake tin quite high with the mixture.
  • Leave cake in tin to cool for 5-10 minutes, then remove tin and leave cake to cool on a cooling rack.

White, fluffy frosting : ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup water
  • ¼ teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 2 egg whites(at room temperature)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Method:

  • In a small saucepan heat the sugar, water and cream of tartar to a medium/high heat, stirring until all the sugar dissolves and the mixture becomes bubbly.
  • Beat the egg whites and vanilla in a bowl until they form soft peaks.
  • Gradually add in the sugar mixture, beating well between additions.  Beat the mixture until it forms stiff peaks [7-10 minutes].

Assembling the cake:

  • Slice the cake in half lengthways.  I use a bread knife.
  • Place bottom half of cake on a cake stand, cake icing stand, serving plate, or simply on the edge of the bench to ice.  If you ice it on the bench, you just need to strategically lift it up and off afterwards.  I sometimes ice my cake on the cooling rack, then I can swivel it around as I ice it and then slide a spatula underneath a bit easier for lifting.
  • Smother the top with frosting and add a layer of sprinkles if you wish.  I think this looks rad when you slice the cake.

  • Place the second half of the cake on top.
  • Dollop a large amount of icing onto the top of the cake and using a knife or proper ‘icing knife’, spread the icing along the top.  Be very generous!
  • Slather the icing along the sides of the cake and again, be very generous with the icing.
  • Once you have covered the cake in loads of icing,  smooth it out using the knife.  Use long strokes to get the icing as smooth as you prefer.  This icing actually looks LUSH without smoothing it too much.  You could leave quite directional marks in the icing if you desired.
  • Cover the cake in sprinkles.  You could do this to the sides or the top of the cake.  I usually do this over the sink or bath so I can clean up easier!
  • Add licorice all-sorts to the top of the cake [and candles if it’s a birthday cake].
  • Clean up any mess or excess icing around the bottom of the cake and plate.  I usually use a paper towel for this.

DEVOUR!

I’d LOVE to hear your thoughts xx

