Cake : LornaLove styles

 

Kia ora all!

So I was asked to take part in an exhibition that opened last Thursday.  I was thrilled to take part and it gave me a kick up the butt to get some art works made.  I completed three artworks and my next blog post will be about those works, the exhibition and the talented people I exhibited with.  In the meantime……

For the exhibition opening night I decided to put a smile on visitors faces by handing out slices of a rather large LornaLove cake ;o)

The cake is of course a replica of my Logo.  I used a lemon butter cake recipe, which I adapted from a Donna Hay recipe.  The icing is my favourite ‘white chocolate cream cheese icing’.  I like the lemon and cream cheese tang, so it’s not too sweet and buttery.  The coloured sections are fondant.

As usual, I was RUSHING to finish the cake right up to the last second! I’m a shocker.  So the gold cachous aren’t placed as straight and carefully as I would have liked….

Yep, that’s moi cutting the cake…..hair looking SHABBY as I didn’t have time to sort myself out before jumping in the car : just smacked the lippy on!

So here is the recipe and method.  I recommend the cake recipe, as it was so easy and turned out very moist.  The hubby said it was the best cake I have made so far……choice!

Ingredients : Lemon butter cake

I doubled this recipe to make a four layer cake.  As you can see the cake ended up quite high!

2½ cups plain flour, sifted

1½ teaspoons baking powder

1¾ cups caster sugar

250g butter, melted

4 eggs

1½ cups milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

zest of one lemon

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 160c  (140 fanforce : 325 f)
  • Place the flour, baking powder, sugar, butter, eggs, milk, vanilla and lemon zest in a large bowl and mix until well combined.

After I had put all the ingredients into the bowl, I noticed the rather intriguing layers…….

  • Pour into a lightly greased tin, lined with baking paper in the bottom.
  • Bake until a skewer stick, inserted into the centre, comes out clean with no wet cake mix on it.  This will be approx 1hr onwards if you use all this mix in one cake tin.
  • Cool in the tin for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.

White chocolate cream cheese icing:

375 g of white chocolate ( I used one bag of Nestle white melts 375g)

450g cream cheese

225g butter

2 Tbsp lemon juice

Method :

  • Melt your chocolate.  I do this by boiling a small amount of water in a saucepan and placing a large bowl over top.  The bowl needs to fit nicely without touching the water at all.  You don’t want to get any water in the chocolate at all!  Stir continuously as the chocolate melts.

  • Let the chocolate cool slightly while you beat the cream cheese in a separate bowl.
  • Pour in the chocolate and beat together.
  • Beat in the softened butter and the lemon juice.
  • Put in the fridge to chill for a while if the icing isn’t at a good consistency for spreading/piping yet.

Assembling the cake:

  • I cut a heart shape from baking paper, placed it over the cake and cut it out.

  • I then placed this cake on top of the other three cakes and cut.  A bread knife is good to use for cutting.

  • Then I spread some of the icing between the layers.
  • Generously spread the icing on the cake using a knife or icing knife.  Start at the top.
  • As you may be able to see, I placed my cake on a sheet of baking paper, on a wire rack.  This is my trick if you don’t have a fancy cake turntable, as you can spin the wire rack on your bench top as you work around the cake ;o)
  • If you can see cake crumbs in your icing, then you should slather another generous layer of icing on again.  However, if you are like me and put LOADS of icing on the first time…..then you probably won’t see any crumbs and all is good.  The ‘proper way’ is to do one layer of icing, put cake in fridge and then do your second layer of icing.
  • Using long strokes with the knife, smooth the icing as perfectly as you can.

  • If you want to learn how to get your icing SUPER SMOOTH, then ‘The little delights in life‘ have a fabulous tutorial on  how to frost a cake using a paper towel’.
  • I then made up some coloured fondant.  I did this by adding a small dab of food colouring to a piece of white fondant and kneading it in with my hands.  I use a dusting of corn starch on my work bench and on my hands, especially if the fondant gets sticky.
  • I then rolled out my fondant colours onto a piece of baking paper.

  • I had previously drawn up my heart on baking paper, so all I then had to do was place the baking paper over top of the fondant and make a mark of the shape I needed by going over the lines with a knife (the knife lines left a mark in the icing which I could then cut out).  This ensured I got the exact, precise shapes needed.
  • I then used a nifty ‘putty scraping tool’, which I got from the hardware store, to lift my fondant pieces off the baking paper and onto the cake.  I’m sure there is some proper, pricey baking tool for doing this, but my putty scraper works a treat!  If the fondant is sticking to the baking paper, put it in the fridge so it can firm a little first.

  • I left space to add in my gold cachous, which I placed using some tweezers (that I use only for baking!)

  • Then I stood in the bath…..yep, stood in the bath…..and shook, or should I say ‘threw’, neon pink sprinkles at the cake to cover the top and sides.   Then you can just wash away all the sprinkles that don’t make it on the cake ;o)   I’m sure there must be plenty of other people that have done or do this?!?…..

tHE.eND x

11 thoughts on “Cake : LornaLove styles

  1. You are an inspiration Lorna. Great that you are getting out there showing the world how amazingly creative and talented you are. Can’t wait to read the next blog about the exhibition.

    • Oh wow thanks Desi! I definately feel I am amped with creative-ness right now….hope it lasts! LornaLove is very much my personal style, so I wasn’t sure people would like it…..so lovely to get feedback like this ;o)

  2. Hi Lorna – your cake looked AMAZING!! Bet it tasted divine too. Thanks for sharing your cake recipe – I made Jeremy’s birthday cake today, using your recipe and it was perfect – so tasty and moist. Cake decorating is not really my thing but I always bake and decorate a special cake for my kids’ birthdays (gets me a bit stressed out sometimes but I think it’s worth it to see the joy on their faces).

  3. Pingback: Exhibition : LornaLove artwork « LornaLove

Comments are closed.