Chocolate cake balls

 

Kia Ora all!

I catered for my gorgeous friend Fleur’s baby shower last weekend.  I was super excited and eagerly planned and designed all the sweet treats I was going to bake.  I then spent many, many hours in the kitchen and once again, time was not on my side!  (I have terrible time management and I’m pretty much 30mins late to anything).  So as the evening event drew closer, I worked faster and faster until I was in this crazy baking FRENZY…..didn’t get to perfect and lovingly refine my baking delights….and left the kitchen like a bomb site for my poor hubby to clean up!! (thank you hubby, love you).  I got plenty of good feedback about the food however and Fleur was happy ;o)

I wanted to show you photos and blog about the superb (err hmm modest!) macaron layer cake I made, but the photos were rubbish, booo!  Here is half decent photo I got…..

I made cake balls for the baby shower and ended up with quite a bit of cake leftover, so I decided to make another batch the next day to gift to friends (have I mentioned how gooooooood it feels giving people baking?!).

You can make these with any cake recipe really.  I used a lemon butter cake and a fabulous dark chocolate cake.

Recipe and method is below.  If you make some I would love, LOVE to hear how it went and see some pics!

My son, Raphael, doing a taste tester for me ;o)

Ingredients:

A cake! (I used some lemon butter cake and dark chocolate cake I had left over).

Icing of your choice (I used cream cheese icing : about 1 cup of icing to 1 cake approx).

White chocolate ( I used a 250g block of Whittaker’s).

Food colouring ( I used a liquid food colouring and it turned out ok – natural yellow and pink).

Sprinkles or other type of decoration of your choice.

Method:

  • Turn your cake into crumbs.  I do this by trimming any hard edges off and rubbing bits of the cake together.  Then I get my hands in there and just fully crumb it all up.

  • Add about half a cup of icing and mix with your hands.  Add more icing until you get the mix into a consistency that it will roll into balls.

Lemon butter mix and dark chocolate mix, with cream cheese icing, ready to roll into balls.

  • Rolls into small balls and place on a tray lined with baking paper.
  • Refridgerate for about an hour if you can.  If you don’t have the time, then they will probably still be ok.
  • Melt your chocolate.  I use this method below by placing chocolate in a glass bowl, which fits over a pot of simmering water.  Continuously stir the chocolate.

  • Once melted, add in your food colouring if desired.
  • Dip your balls one at a time into the chocolate and place back on the tray with baking paper.  I found the best technique that worked for me was to use a fork and a skewer stick.  Put ball into the chocolate, cover with chocolate using the fork, lift out with the fork and using the skewer stick nudge ball off the fork and onto the baking paper.
  • Cover up any messed up areas with extra chocolate using the fork or a teaspoon.
  • Sprinkle with your decorations before the chocolate hardens.

  • Refridgerate again to firm the chocolate.

OH.MY.GOSH.THESE.ARE.YUMMY.!  enJOY

6 thoughts on “Chocolate cake balls

  1. Yummo! Something else I want to bake. Will defo have to try these. It must be someone’s birthday coming up!

  2. I do trust all the ideas you’ve offered in your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for novices. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

    • Thanks for your feedback. Is there anything inparticular that didn’t work for you or you needed more info, clarification on? You use the word ‘posts’….. all my ‘posts are very brief’? Thanks again for your feedback.

Comments are closed.