Ginger gem cookies

I LOVE ginger……do you? Ginger bread, ginger loaf, ginger cookies, ginger nuts……

When making this ginger cookie dough, I can’t help but eat nibbles of it as I go!  The hubby, Harley, tends to sneak a few spoonfuls of dough too.  Super full of sugar and fat, but dam yummo.   The recipe makes quite a lot of dough, so I keep half of it in the freezer and smash out another batch of cookies a few nights later.  Really easy.

The recipe I got from a Donna Hay magazine.   I made these cookies for my friend Jodie, who came over for a play date with her adorable twins.  I had packaged up a few of them for Jodie to take away with her too…..gosh it feels good to give friends some home baking.  Baking really is a way of sharing love and kindness.   I wish I had got a photograph of the three toddlers gnawing into the cookies now.

So, here is the recipe……

Ingredients:

125g butter (at room temperature and chopped)

½ cup brown sugar

²⁄3 cup golden syrup

2½ cups plain flour

2 teaspoons ginger

1 teaspoon baking soda

Method:

  • Beat the butter and sugar with an electric beater until pale and creamy.
  • Add the golden syrup, sifted flour, ginger and baking soda and beat until the mixture just comes together to form a dough.
  • Wrap in plastic and put in the freezer for 15 – 30 mins.  This is to make the dough nice and stiff to work with as you cut the cookie shapes out.  Preheat oven to 190c (170 fan force).

  • Roll the dough out between 2 sheets of baking paper until 5mm thick.

  • Use cookie cutters or use a pointed knife to cut out the shape you desire from the dough.
  • Place uncooked cookies on baking tray lined with baking paper.

  • The dough will become softer as you work with it.  If it becomes too soft, then place back in the freezer for a while.  Gather up your off cuts of the dough, re-roll and cut more cookies.
  • Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes.  Allow to cool on trays.
  • Once cooled, I iced the cookies with royal icing.  I used Queen royal icing (just add water and follow packet instructions), with added food colouring.

My three colours of royal icing.

6 thoughts on “Ginger gem cookies

  1. Yum Lorna, these look awesome! But how much ginger? I wanna make them but I can’t see the amount in the ingredients… unless I’m missing something?

    • OH SORRY!! oops. I have changed recipe now. It is 2 teaspoons ginger and only 1 teaspoon of baking soda. Ginger cookies would no ginger would have been no fun!

  2. These look fantastic! I adore the way you iced them – they look stunning. I’m also incredibly jealous of your bell jar! I’ve been keeping an eye out for one (or many) for ages now, but can’t seem to find any that won’t break the bank. Lovely blog, have saved you to my favourites 🙂

      • Oh, wonderful – that’s just down the road! I’ll have to pop in one weekend and take a look. Glad you enjoy my little blog – I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with x

Comments are closed.